SHORTSHD Second Annual Shorts Awards


LOS ANGELES – ShortsHD, the world’s leading network devoted exclusively to short movies, hosts its second annual Shorts Awards at Soho House in West Hollywood, California for a night of Short Film Oscar nominees and star power. The invitation-only event recognized the Oscar Nominated Short Filmmakers for Live Action, Animation and Documentary, Industry Visionaries and Leaders and a Lifetime Achievement Award presented to Nick Park.

Last year, in addition to honoring each of the 15 nominees, ShortsHD bestowed the first “Lifetime Achievement Award in Short Film” on John Lasseter and three “Visionary Awards” to established filmmakers who have embraced short films, including Oscar® winner, Best Supporting Actress Melissa Leo, Kenneth Branagh and June Foray (the 93 year-old voice of Rocky, the Smurfs and many Looney Tunes characters).

This year Awards were presented in multiple categories.

NOMINEES FOR SHORT FILM (Animation)                  
Film: A Morning Stroll
Nominees: Grant Orchard, Sue Goffe
Film: Dimanche/Sunday
Nominees: Patrick Doyon
Film: The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore
Nominees: William Joyce, Brandon Oldenburg
Film: La Luna
Nominees: Enrico Casarosa
Film: Wild Life
Nominees: Amanda Forbis, Wendy Tilby,

Film: Pentecost
Nominees: Peter McDonald, Eimear O’Kane
Film: Raju
Nominees: Max Zähle, Stefan Gieren
Film: The Shore
Nominees: Terry George, Oorlagh George
Film: Time Freak
Nominees: Andrew Bowler, Gigi Causey
Film: Tuba Atlantic
Nominees: Hallvar Witzø

NOMINEES FOR SHORT FILM (Documentary)            
Film: Incident in New Baghdad
Nominees: James Spione
Film: Saving Face
Nominees: Daniel Junge, Sharmeen Obaid Chinoy
Film: The Barber of Birmingham: Foot Soldier of the Civil Rights Movement
Nominees: Gail Dolgin, Robin Fryday
Film: The Tsunami and the Cherry Blossom
Nominees: Lucy Walker, Kira Carstensen
Film: God is the Bigger Elvis
Nominees: Rebecca Cammisa, Juile Anderson
Visionary Awards:
Visionary Actor – Ray McKinnon
Visionary Actress – Joan Collins
Visionary Leader – Marcy Page
Visionary Animator – Bill Plympton

Lifetime Achievement Award – Nick Park
International Award- TURKEY — Honoring TTNET & the Antalya Golden Orange Film Festival

Shorts Technology Awards:
Best Video Camera for Short Filmmakers – Canon C300
Best New “Point & Shoot” Video Camera – Apple iPhone 4S
Best Technological Innovation to Assist in Short Film Editing- Adobe After Effects
Best Filmmaking App of 2011 -Movie Slate by Pure Blend Software


About Author

CWB News Department

Leave A Reply