The King’s Speech wins the Best Foreign Film Award at 2011 Spirit Awards


LOS ANGELES (February 26, 2011) – Film Independent, the non-profit arts organization that produces the Spirit Awards and the Los Angeles Film Festival, handed out top honors to Black Swan, Winter’s Bone, 127 Hours, and The Kids Are All Right at this afternoon’s 26th Film Independent Spirit Awards.  The King’s Speech, Exit Through the Gift Shop, Get Low, Tiny Furniture, and Daddy Longlegs also received awards at the ceremony, held in a tent on the beach in Santa Monica. 

Tune in to IFC tonight at 10:00 p.m. ET/PT to catch all the action at the 2011 Film Independent Spirit Awards, with actor and comedian Joel McHale hosting.  Highlights include: Joel getting caught in a 127 Hours situation with only Dale Dickey, “Banksy” and John Waters to help him out; See how this year’s best feature nominees stack up against porn and the big studios; Catch the Spirit Awards’ version of a dead people montage; and more!  The show was produced by Film Independent in association with dick clark productions, inc.

The Spirit Awards was the first event to exclusively honor independent film, and over the past 26 years, has become the premier awards show for the independent film community, celebrating films made by filmmakers who embody independence and originality. Artists receiving industry recognition first at the Spirit Awards include Joel & Ethan Coen, Spike Lee, Oliver Stone, Ashley Judd, Robert Rodriguez, David O. Russell, Edward Burns, Aaron Eckhart, Neil LaBute, Darren Aronofsky, Spike Jonze, Charlie Kaufman, Hilary Swank, Marc Forster, Todd Field, Christopher Nolan, Zach Braff, Amy Adams and many more.

This year’s major category winners were Fox Searchlight’s Black Swan, which won Best Feature, Best Director, Best Female Lead, and Best Cinematography and 127 Hours, which won Best Male Lead; Roadside Attractions’ Winter’s Bone, which won Best Supporting Female and Best Supporting Male; IFC Films’ Tiny Furniture, which won Best First Screenplay and Daddy Longlegs, which won the John Cassavetes Award; Focus Features’ The Kids Are All Right, which won Best Screenplay; The Weinstein Company’s the King’s Speech, which won Best Foreign Film; Producers Distribution Agency’s Exit Through the Gift Shop, which won Best Documentary; and Sony Pictures Classics’ Get Low, which won Best First Feature.

Also given was the 4th annual Robert Altman Award, given to one film’s director, casting director, and ensemble cast.  Nicole Holofcener’s Please Give received this award, along with casting director Jeanne McCarthy and ensemble cast members Ann Guilbert, Rebecca Hall, Catherine Keener, Thomas Ian Nicholas, Amanda Peet, Oliver Platt, Lois Smith, and Sarah Steele.

Sandra Oh opened the carpet with a ribbon-cutting ceremony and an announcement that LG Cinema 3D made a $100,000 contribution to Film Independent’s signature diversity program Project:Involve.  Project:Involve nurtures the careers of talented writers, directors and producers from under-represented communities. 

Film Independent and dick clark productions, in partnership with LG Cinema 3D, streamed a Live Arrivals Show at, which included interviews with nominees and celebrities.  The Arrivals Show will be rebroadcast at throughout the evening. 

Premiere Sponsors are IFC, ELLE, Netflix, Piaget, Acura, Jameson Irish Whiskey®, LG Cinema 3D, HTC and Principal Sponsors are Stella Artois and AVEENO.  WireImage is the Official Photographer, American Airlines is the Official Airline and PR Newswire is the Official Breaking News Service of Film Independent.  The Fairmont Miramar Hotel and Bungalows is the Official Host Hotel for the Spirit Awards.  On 3 Productions is the producer of the Official Presenter Gift Lounge and Official Ceremony Gift Bags.  The Official Water of the Spirit Awards is smartwater.  LG Cinema 3D is the Presenting Sponsor of the Voter Party at Santa Monica Place.  For more information on the winners, photo galleries, and video clips from the arrivals and show, please visit

The following is a complete list of the winners:
Best Feature: Black Swan
Black Swan                                                      
Best Director                                                 
Darren Aronofsky for Black Swan
Best Screenplay                                            
The Kids Are All Right, Writers: Stuart Blumberg & Lisa Cholodenko
Best First Feature                                          
Get Low, Director: Aaron Schneider
Best First Screenplay                                              
Lena Dunham, Tiny Furniture                                
John Cassavetes Award   
(For the best feature made under $500,000)    Writers/Directors: Benny Safdie, Josh Safdie
Daddy Longlegs                                              Producers: Casey Neistat, Tom Scott
Best Supporting Female                                
Dale Dickey for Winter’s Bone
Best Supporting Male                                   
John Hawkes for Winter’s Bone
Best Female                                                   
Natalie Portman for Black Swan
Best Male                                                     
James Franco for 127 Hours
Best Cinematography                                  
Matthew Libatique for Black Swan
Best Foreign Film                                          
The King’s Speech, Director: Tom Hooper
Best Documentary                                        
Exit Through The Gift Shop                         


About Author

CWB News Department

Leave A Reply