The award winners of the 26th Hamburg International Short Film Festival 2010


It is still five days to the start of the world cup in South Africa. However, there are already plenty of reasons for celebrations and grand emotions: At the 26th Hamburg International Short Film Festival, the competition winners received their awards this evening. This year’s short film world champion is South Korea: Director Ran-hee Lee wins the jury prize of the International Competition (Hamburg Short Film Award) for his film A Perm. The winners of the jury awards and the audience awards of the German Competition, No Budget Competition, Three-Minute-Quickie Competiton, of the competition-overlapping awards by ARTE and ZDF_neo as well of those of the “Music in Short Films” award are real champions as well.
Furthermore, this year’s winners of the 12th Mo&Friese Children’s ShortFilmFestival, selected by two children’ juries, prove how well the promotion of young talents works at short films.

The Short Film Festival brought the sun to Hamburg. Under a cloudless sky and at surprisingly warm temperatures, our ParkDeckCinema at the Große Reichenstraße turned out to be a total success. Over 600 visitors came at two evenings, using the unique opportunity to watch short films high above down town Hamburg. In spite of the excellent weather, our cinema’s degree of efficiency was greater than last year. We were happy to welcome many accredited guests from the world of international short film, which were once again proving the Hamburg International ShortFilmFestival’s popularity and recognition among professionals. As usual, many roaring parties were held at the festival club, which was held at the Fundbureau this year.

Scroll down for all award winning films and the juries’ statements. You can find photos of the winners in the press section of our website at

International Competition
Hamburg Short Film Award (Jury Award of the International Competition, 3000 Euros)
A Perm  – Ran-hee Lee, South Korea 2009, 18:36 min., Fiction

Special Mentoin:
Joél – Hlynur Pálmason, Iceland 2009, 12:00 min., Fiction

Audience Award (1500 Euros)
Logorama – François Alaux / Hervé de Crézy / Ludovic Houplain, France 2009, 16:05 min., Animation

NoBudget Competition
No Budget Jury Award (2000 Euros)
Helmut’s House – Jessica Dickenson, Great Britain/ Australia 2009, 7:00 min., Documentary

Special mention:
M – Félix Dufour-Laperrière, Canada 2009, 7:40 min., Animation

NoBudget Audience Award (1500 Euros)
Arsy-Versy – Miro Remo, Slovakia 2009, 23:23 min., Documentary

German Competition
Jury Award (2000 Euros)
Holding Still – Florian Riegel, Germany 2010, 26:35 min., Documentary

Special Mentions:
Mein Mallorca (My Mallorca) – Bernadette Knoller, Germany 2009, 15:00 min., Documentary

Gömböc – Ulrike Vahl, Germany 2010, 20:55 min., Fiction

Natural American Spirit ® Audience Award (1500 Euros)
Ein Tag und eine Ewigkeit (A Day and an Eternity) Anna Hepp, Germany 2009, 25:00 min., Documentary

Hamburg Competition
Hamburg Audience Award presented by Pilsner Urquell (1500 Euros)
Gleb’s Film – Christian Hornung, Germany 2009, 27:25 min., Documentary

Three Minute Quickie Competition: Topic ’Kitchen’
Audience Award (1000 Euros)
Senaste Nytt (Latest News) -Per Carleson, Sweden 1996, 3:00 min., Fiction

arte-Short Film Award
arte-Short Film Award (6000 Euros). Acquisition of screening rights and broadcast as part of arte’s short film programme.
Masala Mama – Michael Kam, Singapore 2009, 8:15 min., Fiction

ZDF_neo-Award (Acquisition of screening rights and a broadcast on ZDF_neo for 200 Euros per minute)
Kaffee un Kippen (Coffee ’n Ciggies) – Jana Magdalena Keuchel / Daniel Wacker, Germany 2009, 3:50 min., Choreography

’Music in Shorts’ -Award of the GEMA foundation presented by RockCity Hamburg e.V.
The “Music in shorts” Award is a composer’s award. Therefore, the jury viewed films from all competitions which include scores by composers who are members of a collecting society.

Best Sound design National (Jury award, 1000 Euro) This year’s national award goes to the two following films:
Love & Theft –  Sound design: Heiko Maile, Director: Andreas Hykade, Germany 2010, 6:49 min., Animation
ParisTaken From the Surface -Sound design: Franz Ka, Director: Stephana Schmidt, France / Germany 2008, 12:30 min., Experimental

Best Sounddesign International (Jury award, 1000 Euro)
Le Chant de l’Abre (The Sound of the Tree) Sounddesign: Dylan Corlay, Director: Elsa Werth, France 2009, 6:39 min., Experimental

Mo&Friese Children’s ShortFilmFestival
Angry Man (Sinna Mann) – Anita Killi, Norway 2009, 20:00 min., Animation

Special Mention:
The Postcard – Stefan Le Lay, France 2009, 7:30 min., Fiction

Friese Award sponsored by Springer Bio-Backwerk (Jury award, 1250 Euro, age 4 – 8)
Free Chips Forever! – Claire Dix, Ireland 2009,11:06 min., Fiction

„High five!“ Competition
1st Prize (300 Euros)
Heartache – Lennart Döhle, Germany 2010, 5:00 min., Animation

2nd Prize (200 Euros)
Lara’s new knit pullover – Lisa Ecker, Germany 2010, 4:26 min., Fiction

3rd Prize (100 Euros)
Milk tooth and silver hair – Jeremy Philipp, Germany 2010, 2:28 min., Fiction.


About Author

CWB News Department

Leave A Reply