Border Among Los Angeles Film Festival Winners


The newest of the fall festivals wraps up today, and the Los Angeles Film Festival has announced Tom Shadyac’s powerful and inspiring true story Brian Banks as winner of its Audience Award for Fiction Feature Film and the acclaimed Stuntman as Audience Award choice winner for Best Documentary Feature. As the Toronto Film Festival annually proves, it is the Audience Award that often gets the most attention and is most representative of a particular film’s success at many of these fests.

At its world premiere screening Saturday afternoon, Brian Banks received five standing ovations by my count as the key creative team and actors were brought up on stage by Banks himself after the rousing reception to the emotionally draining film. It’s the story of a promising young football star’s fight against the justice system in trying to clear his name after serving prison time and being falsely accused of raping an underage student at his school. Aldis Hodge plays Banks, and Greg Kinnear stars as the man who helps him and who founded the California Innocence Project. It is hoping to land a distribution deal soon, and definitely could not be more timely.

The Jury prizes, each judged by a panel of three people, were led by U.S. Fiction winner This Teacher from director Mark Jackson,  and World Fiction Award winner Border, which was a prize winner in the Un Certain Regard section the Cannes Film Festival in May and Sweden’s official entry into Oscar’s Foreign Language race.

Here is the full list of winners at the 2018 Los Angeles Film Festival:

The U.S. Fiction Award
This Teacher, dir. Mark Jackson, World Premiere 

U.S. Fiction Special Mention
In Reality, dir. Ann Lupo, California Premiere

World Fiction Award
Border, dir. Ali Abbasi, California Premiere (Sweden)

World Fiction Special Jury Prize, Directing
The Day I Lost My Shadow, dir. Soudade Kaadan, US Premiere (France/Lebanon/Qatar/Syrian Arab Republic)

Documentary Award
hillbilly, dir. Sally Rubin & Ashley York, LA Premiere (USA)

Documentary Special Jury Award for Excellence in Social Justice Storytelling
False Confessions, dir. Katrine Philp, North American Premiere (Denmark)

LA Muse Award
Staycation, dir. Tanuj Chopra, World Premiere (USA)

LA Muse Documentary Award
Fire on the Hill dir. Brett Fallentine, World Premiere (USA)

LA Muse Special Mention, Best Ensemble Cast
Solace, dir. Tchaiko Omawale, World Premiere (USA)

Nightfall Award
The Dead Center, dir. Billy Senese, World Premiere (USA)

Ashleigh Morghan, Head Count (USA)

Nightfall Special Jury Prize, Ensemble Cast
Spell; Barak Hardley, Jackie Tohn, Magnús Jónsson, Birna Rún Eiriksdóttir, Tom Wright, Stacey Moseley, Michael Nanfria, Michole Briana White, Bryndís Haraldsdíttir

Award for Short Fiction
The Passage, dir. Kitao Sakurai (USA)

Award for Documentary Short
One Leg In, One Leg Out, dir. Lisa Rideout (Canada)

Web Episodes Jury Award
Psusy, dir. Anna Duckworth (New Zealand)

Audience Award for Fiction Feature Film
Brian Banks, dir. Tom Shadyac, World Premiere (USA)

Audience Award for Documentary Feature Film
Stuntman (USA) 

Audience Award for Music Video
“Clutch, dir. Christopher Ripley (USA)

Audience Award for Short Film
Weekends, dir. Trevor Jimenez (USA)

Audience Award for Episodic Story
Revenge Tour, dir. Andrew Carter (USA) 

Audience Award for Episodic Pilot
40 & Single, dir. Leila Djansi, World Premiere (Ghana)

Seattle Story Award
I’m Sorry Happy Birthday, dir. Claire Buss, World Premiere

TikTok Real Short Award
Ann Lupo, dir.

Source: Deadline


About Author

World Cinema Reports' Editors

Cinema Without Borders' reporters from around the globe search and find international cinema content for our audience. when an outside source is used, we provide you with a link to the original source at the end of the article

Comments are closed.