Berlinale 2014: Crystal Bears and the Awards


Berlinale 2014: Crystal Bears and the Awards by the Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education) in Generation 14plus

The members of the Youth Jury in Generation 14plus
Simon Kalmbach
Luca Kokol
Karla Laitko
Leonie Mo Munder
Paula Noack
Nicola Scholz
Florian Stündel

Crystal Bear for the Best Film: 52 Tuesdays
by Sophie Hyde, Australia 2013
The situation is exceptional but familiar. This year’s winning movie is both suprising and touching. It is a movie about family and the quest for identity, and despite all the conflicts, the protagonists stay connected through their love to each other. The moving story is presented in a fascinating structure and convinces with strong characters, humour, clever ideas and sensitivity.

Special Mention: Artico
by Gabri Velázquez, Spain 2014
This film dared to do it differently. In a unique manner this film interwoves sentences, rhythm, audio and content, creating an overall picture. Supported by strong images it developed its very own film language und impressed us with that.

Crystal Bear for the Best Short Film: Mike
by Petros Silvestros, Great Britain 2014
We’ve decided on a short movie that illustrates an intricate topic in only a few minutes. The movie creates a frame which spectators then can fill with their own imagination, leaving space for their own interpretation. With subtle imagery, this film tells a story that takes an unexpected turn.

Special Mention Short Film: Emo (The musical)
by Neil Triffett, Australia 2013
This year’s special mention goes to a movie that takes a look at group identity and peer pressure, with a surprising and pleasant lightness of touch. It convinced us with its firework of funny dialogues, melodies and humour, making fun of itself while never becoming ridiculous.

The members of the Generation 14plus International Jury
Laura Astorga Carrera
N. Bird Runningwater
Jan Soldat

The Grand Prix of the Generation 14plus International Jury for the best feature-length film, endowed with € 7,500 by the Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education): Violet
by Bas Devos, Belgium / Netherlands 2013
For its abstract exploration of emotions following a tragic death and because of its exquisite sculpture of cinematography, sound and story the Jury presents the Grand Prix for the best feature film to Violet by Bas Devos.

Special Mention: Einstein and Einstein
by Cao Baoping, People’s Republic of China 2013
As the family welcomes a new highly priced son the complexities of a teenage girl’s emotional world is examined in a very subversive way. This family drama slowly reveals the layers of gender relationships in modern day China.

Special Prize of the Generation 14plus International Jury for the best short film, endowed with € 2,500 by the Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education): Vetrarmorgun
by Sakaris Stórá, Faroe Islands 2013
On a small isolated island community in the northern Atlantic two girls are standing up to the adversity of being stigmatized. For its honest and bitter portrayal of the bond between these best friends the jury gives the Special Prize for the best short film to Vetrarmorgun by Sakaris Stórá.

Special Mention: Søn
by Kristoffer Kiørboe, Denmark 2013
With precision in direction and because of the stunning performance this film shows us in a very tender way the conflicts of being caught between divorced parents. The special mention goes to Søn.


About Author

CWB News Department

Leave A Reply