2010 Spirit Awards Date & Call for entries announced!

Film Independent, the non-profit arts organization that produces the Spirit Awards and the Los Angeles Film Festival, announced today that the 2010 Spirit Awards will be held on Friday, March 5, 2010, and will air live and uncut at 8:00 p.m. PST/11:00 p.m. EST on IFC (Independent Film Channel). The nominations press conference will take place on Tuesday, December 1.

This year’s celebration marks the 25th Anniversary of the Spirit Awards, which honors films made by filmmakers, who embody independence and who dare to challenge the status quo. To celebrate the milestone, Film Independent and IFC will be broadcasting the ceremony live in a special primetime event rather than the organization’s signature Saturday event in a tent on the beach in Santa Monica.

“The influence of independent filmmakers on the language of cinema and popular culture during the last 25 years has been phenomenal, and we have been proud to provide a platform for these talented artists at the Spirit Awards,” said Film Independent Executive Director Dawn Hudson. “In planning this yearís significant anniversary, we decided to venture away from our beloved day at the beach to a Friday evening where we hope an even broader audience discovers us as we kick-off the awards weekend.”

Also announced, Film Independent will be accepting submissions beginning on Monday, August 10, with the early deadline of Monday, September 14 and the final deadline of Tuesday, October 6. Submission guidelines, applications, and more information can be found at SpiritAwards.com. Submissions should be sent to Film Independent, Attention: Spirit Awards Nominations, 9911 West Pico Blvd., 11th Floor, Los Angeles, CA 90035.

As the first event to honor independent film exclusively, the Spirit Awards has made a name for itself as the premier awards show for the independent film community. Founded in 1984 as a small grassroots program, the Spirit Awards started out as the FINDIE (“Friends of Independents”) Awards, and has now grown into one of the most anticipated film events of the year. Artists receiving industry recognition first at the Spirit Awards include Joel & Ethan Coen, Spike Lee, Oliver Stone, Ashley Judd, Robert Rodriguez, David O. Russell, Edward Burns, Aaron Eckhart, Neil LaBute, Darren Aronofsky, Spike Jonze, Charlie Kaufman, Hilary Swank, Marc Forster, Todd Field, Christopher Nolan, Zach Braff, Amy Adams and many more.

In addition to celebrating the talented nominees and winners at the ceremony, the Spirit Awards is the primary fundraiser for Film Independentís year-round programs, which cultivates the careers of independent filmmakers and promotes diversity in the film industry. Year-round sponsors, Spirit Circle members and Industry Circle members receive the option to purchase tickets and tables to the gala beginning October 15. All details can be found at SpiritAwards.com

This year’s ceremony is sponsored by Premier Sponsors IFC, Piaget and Principal Sponsor Netflix. Wire Image is the Official Photographer of Film Independent.


About Author

Leave A Reply