Cannes Announces 2008 Competition Lineup, Jury

Today at a press conference in Paris, Giles Jacob, the Cannes Film Festival president, and general manager Thierry Fremaux announced the slate of films that will be included in the official selection when the 61st annual festival begins next month.
In the lineup are a number of excellent foreign filmmakers, and a few big name Hollywood directors, including Clint Eastwood with “Changeling”, a period mystery staring Angelina Jolie, and Steven Soderbergh, whose biopic, “Che”, stars Benicio Del Toro as the iconic Ernesto “Che” Guevara.

The official lineup as follows:

Nuri Bilge Ceylan – Three Monkeys (Turkey-France-Italy)
Jean-Pierre & Luc Dardenne – Le Silence De Lorna
Arnaud Desplechin – A Christmas Story (France)
Clint Eastwood – Changeling (US)
Atom Egoyan – Adoration (Canada)
Ari Folman – Waltz With Bashir (Israel-France-Germany)
Philippe Garrel – La Frontiere De L’Aube (France)
Matteo Garrone – Gomorra (Italy)
Charlie Kaufman – Synecdoche, New York (US)
Eric Khoo – My Magic (Singapore)
Lucretia Martel – La Mujer Sin Cabeza (Argentina-Spain)
Brillante Mendoza – Serbis (The Philippines)
Kornel Mondruczo – Delta (Hungary-Germany)
Walter Salles & Daniela Thomas – Linha De Passe (Brazil)
Paolo Sorrentino – Il Divo (Italy)
Pablo Trapero – Leonera (Argentina-South Korea)
Wim Wenders – The Palermo Shooting (Germany-Italy)
Jia Zhangke – 24 City (China)
Steven Soderbergh – Che (US-Spain-France)

Out of competition
Steven Spielberg – Indiana Jones And The Kingdom Of The Crystal Skull (US)
Mark Osborne and John Stevenson – Kung Fu Panda (US)
Ji-Woon Kim – The Good, The Bad, The Weird (South Korean)
Woody Allen – Vicky Cristina Barcelona (Spain-US)

Special screenings
Marina Zenovich – Roman Polanski: Wanted and Desired (US)
Wong Kar-wai – Ashes Of Time Redux (Hong Kong-China-Taiwan)
Daniel Leconte – C’est Dur D’etre Aime Par Des Cons (France)
Marco Tullio Giordana – Sangue Pazzo (Italy-France)
Terence Davies – Of Time And The City (UK)

Midnight Screenings
Emir Kusturica – Maradona (Spain)
Jennifer Lynch – Surveillance (US)
Hong-Jin Na – The Chaser (South Korea)

Special Jury President’s screening
Alison Thompson – The Third Wave (US)

Main Jury
Sean Penn, president
Sergio Castellitto
Natalie Portman
Alfonso Cuaron
Apichatpong Weerasethakul
Alexandra Maria Lara
Rachid Bouchareb


About Author

Christopher P. Duffy

Leave A Reply